The Lepers at Shanti Gramam

I was so fortunate to visit a leprosy rehabilitation center. The center housed people who were lepers and who were discarded by their families, free of cost. It was night time and many had eaten their food. Some were blind and had no fingers. I have never seen people who were so contented. I found real human happiness in them. I hugged a blind woman and she started crying and sang a song for me. The doctor in charge said the small quarters in which they were staying was donated by my grandfather late T. P. Chandy in loving memory of my late grandmother Alemya Chandy. I have spent my childhood with him and flood of emotions surged in me. I feel so proud of him and his philanthropic zeal. I found in those people a ‘happiness which was a peace that passeth all understanding.’

Author: psiberite

I am a Hellenic Philistine driven by the made pursuit of aestheticism, an existential nihilist and post modern deconstructionist.

Leave a Reply

